An indulgent Start to the Day – Ila Spa Body Scrub & Body Balm

I had a wonderfully uplifting spa experience this morning. I was pampered, my spirits were lifted and I was ready to start the day with a smile on my face – and all this before I had even switched on my coffee maker. The venue wasn’t a luxury retreat close to my home (there isn’t one), but my humble shower. And the experience was provided by two products from Ila Spa’s luxurious organic skincare range: the Body Scrub for a blissful Experience (£63 for 250g) and the Body Balm for feeding Skin and Senses (£50 for 200g).

I have reviewed Ila Spa products before, and if you follow my blog you will know that I hold this brand in high esteem. It ticks all the right boxes in terms of what I expect from a skincare range. And then some. Handmade with ethically sourced organic plant and mineral extracts, the products come in luxurious glass jars with Ila Spa’s distinctive gold lettering and not only smell simply divine, but also deliver results.

Let’s start with the scrub. It makes me swoon every time I smell it. If I ran this country I would make sure everybody had one of these in their shower, as it would make for one happy nation. The instant you take off the lid the uplifting mix of rose and jasmine drifts out and conjures up images of luxury spas in far flung places and time whiled away cocooned in a fluffy bathrobe after the most amazing massage. Rarely have I experienced products that evoke such strong imagery. The scrub is just the right consistency – it maintains its grainy texture long enough so you really fee the benefit of the exfoliation, before it melts into your skin, leaving the beautiful Argan and rosehip seed oils to envelop and nourish your skin.

Take a look at these gorgeous ingredients. No wonder this scrub rocks.

Himalayan Salt Crystals (Sodium Chloride), Wild-Grown Argan Oil (Argania Spinosa Kernel), Almond (Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis), Rosehip Seed Oil (Rosa Canina Fruit), Sandalwood (Santalum Spicatum), Rose Otto Oil (Rosa Damascena Flower Oil), Jasmine (Jasminium Officinale), Patchouli (Pogostemon Cablin), Vitamin E Oil (Tocopherol Extract), Wild Poppy Essence, Naturally Occurring Citronellol, Geraniol.

Scrub yourself to a Nirvana State of Mind

Scrub yourself to a Nirvana State of Mind

The glorious scrub itself will make you feel like Cleopatra emerging from her milk bath, but there’s nothing wrong with a little extra pampering on a Tuesday morning, so I followed up with the super nourishing body balm. The balm is solid in the jar and you just scoop out a small amount with a spatula (or your fingers). I’m usually not a huge fan of body balms, and much prefer body butters, but this balm is truly unique. As I started rubbing it into my skin, an initial hint of graininess disappeared almost instantly, leaving a wonderfully soft balm that applied like a dream. I was amazed at how far a small amount went! I love how quickly the balm is absorbed, without leaving any oily residue. It’s like having your body draped in cashmere, all thanks to this selective blend of exceptional ingredients:

Wild-Grown Argan Oil (Argania Spinosa), Shea Butter (Butrospermum Parkii), Beeswax (Cera Alba), Rose Otto (Rosa Damascena) and Rose Geranium (Pelargonium Graveolens), Naturally Occurring Limonene, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, Farnesol

Does exactly what is says. Times ten :-)

Does exactly what is says. Times ten 🙂

The delicate rose scent lingers beautifully and my skin feels incredibly soft and smooth. If you have never tried Ila Spa before, I urge you to do so. Put it on your birthday wish list or skip the daily lattes for a while. It’s totally worth it and every woman deserves to feel this good on a Tuesday morning 🙂

love, lou x

One thought on “An indulgent Start to the Day – Ila Spa Body Scrub & Body Balm

Leave a Reply

